Scientific Founders

Scientific Founders


Marc A. Cohen is Co-founder and Executive Chairman of C4 Therapeutics. Marc is also the Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer of Bublup, Inc; Neuro Tennis, Inc.; and COBRO Ventures, Inc.; as well as the Co-founder and Chairman of Acetylon Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and OncoPep, Inc., two biotech companies spun out of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard University. In addition, Marc was the Co-founder, Chief Executive Officer, and Chairman of OPNET Technologies, Inc (Nasdaq: OPNT), a world leader in network and application performance management. OPNET was sold to Riverbed Technology (Nasdaq: RVBD) in December 2012. Marc received a Bachelor of Science in engineering from Harvard University and a Master of Science in electrical engineering from Stanford University. Marc is a Trustee of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute where he is focusing on accelerating translational research and increasing the flow of new therapies to patients.  Marc enjoys tennis, yoga, and photography, and still hopes to figure out golf one day.
C4T - Think Different


James (Jay) E. Bradner, MD is President of the Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research (NIBR) and a member of the Executive Committee of Novartis. Prior to joining Novartis Dr. Bradner served on the research faculty of Harvard Medical School and as an attending physician in stem cell transplantation within the Department of Medical Oncology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. The research focus of the Bradner laboratory has been the study of BET bromodomain proteins and their function in gene control, innovating chemical probes and investigational drugs to study and treat cancer. Dr. Bradner is a co-founder of five biotechnology companies and has co-authored more than 130 scientific publications and 30 United States patent applications. Dr. Bradner is a graduate of Harvard College and the University of Chicago Medical School. He completed residency in Medicine at Brigham & Women's Hospital, fellowship in Medical Oncology and Hematology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and postdoctoral training in chemistry and chemical biology at Harvard University (Prof. Stuart Schreiber). He is the recipient of many honorific awards and was elected into the American Society of Clinical Investigation in 2011 and the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society in 2013.

President, Novartis Institute for Biomedical Research, effective March, 2016. Former Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School. Co-founder of SHAPE Pharmaceuticals, Acetylon Pharmaceuticals, Teshna Therapeutics, and Syros Pharmaceuticals. First to accomplish an all-chemical strategy for target-specific protein degradation (Science 2015).


Ken is the Kraft Family Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School as well as Director of the Jerome Lipper Multiple Myeloma Center and Lebow Institute for Myeloma Therapeutics at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. His research has pioneered understanding of the tumor microenvironment in multiple myeloma and he has played an extensive role in the development and approval of numerous new treatments for myeloma patients. His research and impact on patient outcomes has been widely recognized including election to the National Institute of Medicine and the Royal Colleges of Physicians and Pathologists and the 2012 American Cancer Society Medal of Honor. He received his MD from Johns Hopkins Medical School, where he also trained in internal medicine, and completed hematology, medical oncology and tumor immunology training at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, served as President of the International Myeloma Society, and is President-elect of the American Society of Hematology.


Nathanael is Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at Harvard Medical School and an Investigator at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.  Previously, he was Director of Biological Chemistry at the Genomics Institute of the Novartis Research Foundation. Nathanael’s research focuses on the discovery of small molecules that impact biological pathways important in cancer.  These efforts have produced numerous first-in-class kinase inhibitors that have become widely used to understand complex biology and have also inspired drug discovery programs.  Nathanael’s research has been recognized by many awards including the Meyenburg Cancer Research Award, the American Chemical Society Award for Outstanding Research in Biological Chemistry, and the AACR Award for Team Science.  Nathanael received his PhD from the University of California at Berkeley. Nathanael is a founder of Syros Pharmaceuticals.

Contact Us

Telephone:   +1  617-231-0700

Email:   C4 Therapeutics